• BIENVENUE AU LABORATOIRE DE LA MÉMOIRE

    Le Laboratoire de la MÉMOIRE cherche à étudier les mécanismes de la neuroplasticité afin de développer de nouvelles interventions plus efficaces pour améliorer le bien-être physique et cognitif de différentes populations

  • JOIGNEZ- NOUS AU LABORATOIRE DE LA MÉMOIRE

    Si vous êtes curieux, travaillez fort et si vous souhaitez poursuivre des études supérieures, contactez-nous pour explorer les possibilités qui s'offrent à vous pour devenir membre du laboratoire de la MÉMOIRE.

    LIRE LA SUITE
  • PROGRAMMES D'EXERCICE POUR LES PATIENTS

    Si vous avez reçu un diagnostic d'AVC ou de maladie du Parkinson et vous souhaitez participer à un programme d'entraînement gratuit, personnalisé et supervisé de 3 jours par semaine, contactez-nous.

    LIRE LA SUITE

PODCAST DE LA MAÎTRISE DE L'EXERCICE

Dr. Roig fait des entrevues avec des leaders du domaine d'ordonnance d'exercice. Il parle avec des chercheurs reconnus qui travaillent sur comment l'exercice peut améliorer les différents aspects de la qualité de vie de populations variées et de groupes cliniques. Les sujets de conversation inclus: le meilleur type d'exercice pour améliorer la santé du cerveau et diminuer le déclin cognitif relié à l'âge. De plus, comment l'exercice peut améliorer la mobilité des gens qui souffrent de conditions neurologiques comme l'AVC, la maladie du Parkinson ou la Sclérose en plaques.

DOMAINES DE RECHERCHE

MemoryLab-McGill-Opening-Windows-of-Neuroplasticity-dr-Marc-Roig1-DSC 0147
VIEILLISSEMENT
Nous étudions les mécanismes qui sous-tendent la perte de mémoire liée à l’âge. À cette fin, nous utilisons une stimulation cérébrale comportementale et non invasive afin comprendre la raison pour laquelle en vieillissant, nous rencontrons des problèmes à nous rappeler de différents types d'informations.
MemoryLab-McGill-Opening-Windows-of-Neuroplasticity-dr-Marc-Roig1-DSC 9910
NEUROPLASTICITÉ
Nous étudions les mécanismes qui soutiennent les changements cérébraux résultants du vieillissement et du processus pathologique, ainsi que d'autres interventions de réadaptation impliquant l'exercice ou la stimulation cérébrale non invasive.
MemoryLab-McGill-Opening-Windows-of-Neuroplasticity-dr-Marc-Roig1-DSC 9991
EXERCICE
Nous explorons comment concevoir des interventions novices d'exercices pour améliorer la mobilité et la cognition des personnes en bonne santé, mais également des personnes souffrants de maladies neurologiques telles que les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et la maladie du Parkinson.
DSC 9898
NEURORÉHABILITATION
Nous combinons différentes interventions (par exemple, l'exercice) et des techniques (par exemple, la stimulation magnétique cérébrale non invasive) pour concevoir des traitements aux personnes qui ont besoin de récupérer après un AVC ou qui ont besoin de ralentir leur détérioration physique et cognitive.

DÉCOUVREZ NOS PROGRAMMES D'EXERCICE POUR LES PATIENTS

Avez-vous été victime d'un accident vasculaire cérébral ou avez-vous reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Parkinson et souhaitez-vous faire de l'exercice? Nous organisons des programmes d'exercice complètement gratuits cependant nous pourrions vous demandez de participer à nos activités de recherche. Ces programmes amélioreront votre santé et nous permettront d’apprendre d'avantage la meilleure façon d’améliorer les interventions d’exercice pour des patients comme vous.

LES DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES

http://www.mcgilltribune.com/sci-tech/video-games-180220/" target="_blank">
videogames

Linking physical exercise to video games

“You can combine exercise and video games,” Roig said. “A lot of people think they are opposed, but really, we are failing our younger generations. The hope of this paper is to show parents and younger people that you can improve at both simultaneously.” – McGill Reporter


https://www.cnbc.com/2020/02/07/league-of-legends-study-cardio-improves-video-game-performance.html?&qsearchterm=video%20games" target="_blank">
roig gaming study1

15 minutes of cardio improves video game performance: study

While playing video games might not seem like the most physically demanding activity, new research out of McGill University suggests that when players exercise before playing a game, they play better. -CNBC


https://www.elmundo.es/vida-sana/cuerpo/2020/02/08/5e3c0dd621efa037238b456f.html" target="_blank">
httpswwwelmundoesvidasanacuerpo202002085e3c0dd621efa037238b456fhtml

Un científico español desvela el mejor truco para League of Legends: 15 minutos de ejercicio antes de jugar

Ahora resulta que la actividad física, además de obrar el milagro de hacernos sentir estupendamente de cuerpo y de coco, puede ayudarnos a mejorar el rendimiento en un escenario tan antagónico al movimiento (real) como es el de los videojuegos. – El Mundo


https://www.rcinet.ca/en/2020/02/04/research-may-link-exercise-to-improved-video-game-performance/" target="_blank">
11592935546

Research may link exercise to improved video game performance

A Canadian researcher from McGill University recently conducted a study that suggests that exercise can improve performance in video games. A group of young players were asked to play the popular online video game, League of Legends for 20 minutes after 15 minutes of intense cardio exercise. The players were then asked to come in and play the game again after a period of rest. Dr. Marc Roig is an associate professor at McGill University, and neuroscientist that does research on the effects of exercise on the brain. He said that two of his students, Bernat de Las Heras and Orville Li, came to him with the idea to test the theory out. –Radio Canada International


DÉCOUVREZ-NOUS

SUIVEZ-NOUS

SOUTIEN FINANCIER

• WELCOME TO THE MEMORY LABORATORY

    The MEmory and MOtor Rehabilitation LaboratorY Is interested in studying the mechanisms of neuroplasticity to develop novel and more effective interventions to improve physical and cognitive well-being in different populations

  • JOIN THE MEMORY LABORATORY

    If you are curious, hard working and you are interested in pursuing graduate studies get in touch with us to explore potential opportunities to become a member of the MEmory and MOtor Rehabilitation LaboratorY

    READ MORE
  • PATIENT TRAINING PROGRAMS

    If you have been diagnosed with stroke or Parkinson's disease and you are interested in joining a free, personalized and supervized 3 days a week exercise training program get in touch with us

    READ MORE

MASTERS IN EXERCISE PODCAST

Dr Roig interviews leaders in the field of exercise prescription. He talks with prominent researchers who investigate how exercise can improve different aspects of quality of life in different populations and clinical groups. Conversations topics covers: what type of exercise is best to improve brain health and reduce age related cognitive decline and how can exercise improve mobility in people with neurological conditions such as patients with Stroke, Parkinson's Disease or Multiple Sclerosis.

RESEARCH AREAS

MemoryLab-McGill-Opening-Windows-of-Neuroplasticity-dr-Marc-Roig1-DSC 0147
AGING
We study the mechanisms that underlie age-related memory loss. To this end, we use behavioral and non-invasive brain stimulation to understand why, as we age, we experience problems to remember different types of information.
MemoryLab-McGill-Opening-Windows-of-Neuroplasticity-dr-Marc-Roig1-DSC 9910
NEUROPLASTICITY
We investigate the mechanisms that support the brain changes that occur as a result of aging and the disease process as well as in response of other rehabilitative interventions involving exercise or non-invasive brain stimulation.
MemoryLab-McGill-Opening-Windows-of-Neuroplasticity-dr-Marc-Roig1-DSC 9991
EXERCISE
We explore how to design novel and more effective exercise interventions to improve mobility and cognition for non-disabled people but also for people with neurological conditions such as stroke and Parkinson’s disease.
DSC 9898
NEUROREHABILITATION
We combine different interventions (e.g. exercise) and techniques (e.g. non-invasive brain stimulation) to design treatments for people that need to recover after stroke or need too slow down their physical and cognitive deterioration.

CHECK OUT OUR PATIENT TRAINING PROGRAMS

Have you suffered a stroke or been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease and are interested in exercise? We are running patient training programs. Training is free but we might ask you to participate in our research activities. These programs will improve your health and will allow us to learn more about how to improve exercise interventions for patients like you.

LATEST NEWS


roig gaming study1

15 minutes of cardio improves video game performance: study

While playing video games might not seem like the most physically demanding activity, new
research out of McGill University suggests that when players exercise before playing a game, they play better. -CNBC




DISCOVER US

FOLLOW US

FUNDING SUPPORT